All state and national highways in India belong to the govt , and road tax is applicable to all or any those people who wants to use them. The taxes collected are used to maintain the roads in order that drivers and riders haven’t any issues on the road.

In India, every highway that’s a state or national highway, is taxed by the Indian Government for raising the value of creating as well as the maintenance of the roads. This is a really essential cost which allows us to be able to travel comfortably through states, towns and cities conveniently. Also security on these roads are vital since highway robbery has to be controlled in some parts of India. This road taxation helps to make sure that the value of road safety and security is also maintained. There are various sorts of road taxes, that are supported the state you’re traveling in. The most common road tax that’s collected from vehicles, is that the toll tax.

Road Taxes in Union and State Territories of India

Andhra Pradesh Road Tax Maharashtra Road Tax
Arunachal Pradesh Road Tax Manipur Road Tax
Assam Road Tax Meghalaya Road Tax
Bihar Road Tax Mizoram Road Tax
Chhattisgarh Road Tax Odisha Road Tax
Goa Road Tax Punjab Road Tax
Gujarat Road Tax Rajasthan Road Tax
Haryana Road Tax Sikkim Road Tax
Chandigarh Road Tax Tamil Nadu Road Tax
Himachal Pradesh Road Tax Telangana Road Tax
Jammu & Kashmir Road Tax Tripura Road Tax
Karnataka Road Tax Uttar Pradesh Road Tax
Kerala Road Tax West Bengal Road Tax
Madhya Pradesh Road Tax

Toll Tax

While this tax is mandatory and is charged in toll plazas along the highways across India, the rates vary because each tract is in charge of a particular distance of the road. This taxation does is exempted surely people including VIPs within the country of certain officials who are listed in the last section.

Toll Tax Rates

Based on the terms and conditions of the National Highways Fee (Determination of Rates and Collection Rules, 2008, the toll tax rates are purported to undergo revision every year and get from April 1, the are the present rates are available on the website and differ supported location and distances.

Toll Tax Policy

Policy for saving toll tax is established on the Public or the National Highways Act, 1956 (48 of 1956) provisions also because the National Highways Fee (Determination of Rates and Collection) Rules, 2008, when this amendment was made. As of 2016 there are 390 toll collection fee plazas across the national highways in India. Based on the present policy literature any road with 6 lanes with 4 lanes already running is tolled although the highway isn’t fully completed. As of 2016, there’s no separate regulatory agency running independently for this taxation.

Toll Tax Exemption List

Any vehicle which has the subsequent people are going to be exempted toll tax across India:

  1. President of India;
  2. Prime-Minister of India;
  3. Vice-President of India;
  4. Chief Justice of India;
  5. Governor of any State in India;
  6. Speaker of the House of People;
  7. Cabinet Minister of the Union
  8. Judge of the Supreme Court;
  9. Governor of any State in India;
  10. Minister of State of the Union;
  11. Member of Parliament;
  12. Lieutenant Governor of any Union Territory in India;
  13. Chief of Staff holding a general or equivalent rank;
  14. Chairman of the Legislative Council of a State;
  15. Speaker of the legislature of any State in India;
  16. Chief Justice of a High Court;
  17. Judge of a High Court;
  18. Army Vice-chief or Commander of Army Staff and equivalent in other services;
  19. Foreign dignitary on State visit;
  20. Chief Secretary to a government within concerned State;
  21. Secretary to the Government of India;
  22. Secretary, Council of States;
  23. Secretary, House of People;
  24. A Member of legislature of a State within the state premises, with identity proof.
  25. A Member of legislature within the borders of their respective State, with identity proof.
  26. Awardees of the subsequent recognition, with adequate identity proof:
    • Param Vir Chakra, Ashok Chakra,
    • Maha Vir Chakra, Kirti Chakra,
    • Vir Chakra,
    • Shaurya Chakra.

The other vehicles which are discharge from the toll tax include:

  1. Vehicle under or with a passenger or a traveller who is from the Ministry of Defence including people eligible for toll exemption supported the provisions of the Indian Toll (Army and Air Force) Act, 1901 and laws including the Navy;
  2. Central and State soldiers in uniform including para military forces and police;
  3. An executive Magistrate;
  4. Vehicle belonging to the fire-fighting Department or organisation;
  5. Vehicle belonging to the National or the Public Highways Authority of India;
  6. Vehicle belonging to the other organisation or agency for purposes of inspection, survey, operation or construction and maintenance of public highways;
  7. Vehicle used as ambulance;
  8. Vehicle used as funeral van

Tools & Portals You Might Be Interested to AuTOMate Your Accounting

Most Preferred Excel to Tally Data Import Utility

Import any Software Data to Tally Using Our Simple Excel Templates

Visit Site
Most Preferred Data Import Utility for Online Sellers

Import any Online Portal Order-wise Sales, Returns & Settlement Data to Tally!

Visit Site
Most Preferred Job Portal for Accountants

Fastest Growing Job Portal for Accounting Community!

Visit Site